Crazy Monday Ramblings from Chilly Willy…

Good morning, afternoon, evening or night depending on where and when in the world this finds you. It is late on a Monday afternoon here in Bangkok and boy is it hot outside. Actually, It is “shtonking” hot outside, to quote a dear friend of mine who once resided here in Thailand till quite recently. I’ve just come in from a strangely un-exhilarating trip out to the gym, and I wanted to sit down to write out my thoughts for you guys. You know, It always seems like I have good ideas to write about when I’m out and about away from my computer, but then my mind goes blank the moment I sit down here to share.

Did everyone have a good weekend? I meant to do something productive over the past weekend, like get up early and go out to visit the local aquarium with my partner. However, we spent the entire day on Sunday on our sofa cuddled up watching season 4 of Grey’s Anatomy instead. I’ve recently started getting into the show Private Practice, and it sort of connected the dots for me. Anyway, I feel sort of guilty that we didn’t get out of the house and do something productive but we just couldn’t get motivated to pull ourselves off the couch. However, I guess that is what lazy Sundays are made, right?

I’ve decided to embrace my problem with insomnia and make the best of it since I’ve still got 2 weeks left on my vacation time. There were some really great comments that came in from you guys that made me feel better about staying up all night, and I wanted to let you know I really appreciate the encouragement. I’m going to try and use the time productively, as I’ve still got to sit down to write out the last chapter of my study for my graduate degree. I might as well use the time I’m awake to do just that so I can finally wrap it up and be done with it. However, I know it seems silly, but I’m just about burnt out with doing work for my studies after all this time. I feel bored and lazy at the same time, and I can tell you that it’s not a good combination. I can’t help but hear my Mom and Dad’s voices in my head calling me Chilly Willy. He was this really cute little cartoon character I watched growing up, who’s favorite line was “me no like work.” So, having a penchant for being lazy and bored when I have down time is sort of a bad personality trait I seem to have possessed for a long time. I feel bored with things, but I’m to lazy to get off my behind to change what I’m doing. Anyways, I don’t know why I felt like sharing that with you today, but just wanted to get it off my chest. Maybe I’m not the only Chilly Willy out there in the wide world? However, for everyone else I hope you are having a productive start to your week and I’ll be back again to talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

